San Francisco Becomes First in the Bay Area to Reopen Indoor Dinning, Places of Worship

Photo credit: Jason Leung via Unsplash

California Health and Human Services Secretary Dr. Mark Ghaly, provided an update on the state’s blueprint for a safer economy Tuesday afternoon. The plan is statewide, simple, slow, and stringent.

San Francisco will move from the red (substantial) tier to orange (moderate) tier. Contra Costa will move from the purple (widespread) tier to the red (substantial) tier, leaving Sonoma as the only Bay Area county in the purple (widespread) tier.

“We know this continues to be a challenging time with people struggling economically and emotionally,” Mayor London Breed said in a statement. “However, thanks to San Francisco’s commitment to following public health guidance, we are seeing improvements in our numbers, which means we can continue to move forward with reopening.

“We are committed to following the data and continuing reopening once our local health indicators demonstrate it is safe to do so.”

Mayor Breed continued to explain that the city is working to open playgrounds on October 14th. Read Mayor London Breed’s full statement here.

“This is a good step on our road to recovery. That said, the last thing we want to see is a spike in cases & need to roll back the progress we’ve made. Please continue to follow health guidelines so we can continue to move forward together,” tweeted Breed.

“San Francisco is moving today after a close set of conversations over the past week with San Francisco County health leadership around data and looking at it closely,” Ghaly said during the virtual news conference.

In the orange tier, San Francisco is now allowed to reopen:

  • All retail indoors with modifications (no capacity)
  • Shopping centers (malls, destination centers, swap meets) open indoors with modifications (no capacity), with closed common areas, reduced capacity food courts
  • Places of worship can open indoors with 50% capacity or 200 people, whichever is fewer

In the red tier, Contra Costa County can open the following:

  • All retail stores with modifications at 50% capacity
  • Shopping centers (malls, destination centers, swap meets) at 50% capacity with closed common areas, reduced-capacity food courts

Read more information on guidelines here.

Last week, three Bay Area counties, Alameda, San Mateo, and Solano, moved into the red tier, joining Napa, Marin, and Santa Clara counties.

Watch Mark Ghaly’s full press conference here.


KGO Events


Stay updated with KGO 810

Subscribe to KGO 810’s weekly eblast to get the latest information on local news, events, and exclusives from your favorite personalities.