Santa Clara, Alameda Move to Less Restrictive “Orange” Tier in Reopening the Economy

Photo credit: Unsplash

As businesses begin to reopen and things go back to “normal” more Bay Area counties are able to move toward their new normal.

During a press conference Tuesday afternoon, Dr. Mark Ghaly announced Alameda and Santa Clara counties have moved from the the red (substantial) tier to the less restrictive orange (moderate) tier as part of California’s blueprint for a safer economy. The color-coded reopening plan is “statewide, simple, slow and stringent.”

Before Tuesdays move to join San Francisco in the orange tier, Santa Clara was in the red tier for five weeks and Alameda was in the red tier for three weeks.

In the orange tier, counties are allowed to reopen:

  • All retail indoors with modifications (no capacity)
  • Shopping centers (malls, destination centers, swap meets) open indoors with modifications (no capacity), with closed common areas, reduced capacity food courts
  • Schools can reopen for in-person learning based on state and county guidance
  • Gyms and fitness centers max 25% capacity
  • Family entertainment centers max 25% capacity
  • Indoor dining, movie theaters & places of worship max 25% capacity or 100 people (whichever if fewer)
  • Wineries max 25% capacity
  • Bars, breweries & distilleries (where no meals are provided) can reopen

Sonoma County remains in the most restrictive purple tier, while Contra Costa Marin, Napa, San Mateo, and Solano counties remain in the red tier.

Read more information about guidelines here.

Watch the full press conference here.


KGO Events


Stay updated with KGO 810

Subscribe to KGO 810’s weekly eblast to get the latest information on local news, events, and exclusives from your favorite personalities.